Snow Will Not Stay

There is a poetry reading coming up next week, so I decided to write a new Rondeau. I blame the current polar vortex for the subject matter.

“Snow will not stay,” I do recite
As flurries turn the day to night.
I contemplate warm sunny skies,
Though winter cheats the spring with lies,
Positive thinking arms my fight.

 

Powdered dust turns to slush despite
Chill winds blowing with all their might.
I say, “Winter, here’s a surprise
Snow will not stay.”

 

A break in the clouds will alight
Vengeful spring’s warm sunny delight.
I gleefully watch winter’s tries
Weakening down to its demise
Warmth! Crush this awful parasite!
Snow will not stay.

 

 

Leave a Reply

