2016 Resolutions

I think its safe to put 2015 behind me. I’m ready to make my resolutions for 2016. In 2016, I resolve to exercise my creativity. Next year, I’m going to remove the obstacles to my creativity.

In terms of writing, it is my computer. It takes an hour to get it functional after turning it on. It still runs Vista and it is from 2007. This is unacceptable, and has been so for many years now. I’ve turned off the auto-renew on my computer’s anti-virus software, so ready or not, I’m getting a new machine in 2016.

Once I have a new computer, I can power it up and beginning writing on a whim, which is what occurred during my most productive writing years (2005-2009). I can record my dreams. I can post short-stories. I can even write this novella that I’ve been developing all year. The paltry amount of literature I’ve written this year is depressing.

As for music, I’m looking forward to my downstairs roommate moving out in May. I want to buy a bunch of recording gear and compose music in my basement, but frankly his destructive cats are in the way. Once he moves out, his room will be converted into my recording studio. Maybe? Perhaps I don’t need that much space and can still rent out that room, but we’ll see.

It has been a dream since high school to independently generate and sell my music for money, but the internet has stood in my way for long enough. I would rather just make music rather than live in fear that it will be pirated. That’s like being afraid to go outside because you think you’ll get cold. Just buy a damn coat already!

2016 will be one of the rare years where I won’t have a resolution devoted to people skills. I feel like I’m in a better position now than I have in the past. I can make friends now. I can build a social network. I can throw a party and have people show up. These are things that I couldn’t do a decade ago and I feel satisfied that I can commit my efforts elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

