Traffic Accident

I got into a car accident this morning. I was going south on Portland at 25 mph at 7:20 this morning. Two blocks ahead, I see a taxi van signal a left-hand turn on the 494 bridge. I apply the brakes a block and a half away, but my car isn’t stopping. There is a car in my blindside and oncoming traffic on my left. I slam on the brakes just as I’m getting on the bridge and my car slides uncontrollably forward. I scream, “STOP!!” and press hard on the horn. My car’s horn is unresponsive. The entire accident is unfolding in the slowest possible motion. I think that I’m going to stop, but I don’t and I bump the back bumper of the taxi van.

 

He makes his left and I follow him. We pull off the road to exchange insurance and inspect. There is no damage.

 

 “I can’t believe the ice on that bridge,” I say.

He starts picking at the bumper, “I think there’s a scratch. Do you have insurance?”

“I do. I suppose I should get yours too.”

“Do we need to get the police involved?”

“I don’t see any damage.”

“Its no problem man.”

“I agree,” I say in relief. We go our separate ways undamaged.

 

Morals of the story: 1) Always drive below the speed limit, 2) Treat icy bridges with extra respect. If you do this, you’ll avoid damage in your next traffic accident.

One thought on “Traffic Accident

Leave a Reply

